Muskie Discussion Forums

Forums | Calendars | Albums | Quotes | Language | Blogs Search | Statistics | User Listing
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )
Moderators: Slamr

View previous thread :: View next thread
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [30 messages per page]

Muskie Fishing -> Lures,Tackle, and Equipment -> Rod/reel pairing and Line questions

Message Subject: Rod/reel pairing and Line questions
timhutson1
Posted 9/2/2013 10:28 AM (#660868)
Subject: Rod/reel pairing and Line questions

I am getting ready to buy new line for my outfits and have a few questions since I am new to musky fishing. Currently I have 4 reels and 4 rods that I am taking on a trip to St. Clair in 2 weeks then LOTW next July. This is how I was planning on pairing them:

St. Croix premier 7'6" MH + Calcutta 300D + No Line: small lures, all types

St. Croix premier 7'6" H + Calcutta 400D + No Line: Mainly Jerkbait/suicks + med sized all around

TI 9' telescopic rod XH + Calcutta 400 TE w/ power handle + slightly used 65# power pro: All around Larger baits; plastics up to 8 oz.

TI 9' telescopic rod XH + Tranx PG + No line: Large DCG's and double 13's pretty much exclusively

1. Would you all change the pairing or the applications of the set ups?

2. I was planning on moving the 65# PP over to the 300D set up and buying new Cortland Masterbraid for the others. Currently thinking 80# for all the others. Any input on this?

3. Should I be able to spool up all three with two 300 yard spools? Maybe split one for the 400D and 400TE and use the other for the Tranx? Back all with a bunch of similar sized mono.
muskie! nut
Posted 9/2/2013 10:44 AM (#660872 - in reply to #660868)
Subject: Re: Rod/reel pairing and Line questions

1) No
2) That sound like a good plan