Muskie Discussion Forums

Forums | Calendars | Albums | Quotes | Language | Blogs Search | Statistics | User Listing
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )
Moderators: Slamr

View previous thread :: View next thread
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [30 messages per page]

Muskie Fishing -> Lures,Tackle, and Equipment -> Best Beginner Confidence Baits

Message Subject: Best Beginner Confidence Baits
Ryan
Posted 6/14/2013 11:49 PM (#646632)
Subject: Best Beginner Confidence Baits

I'm new to musky fishing and I have good equipment but don't know what baits tp throw when and what are great baits to gain confidence in. So far I have a few musky killer mepps and a few spinnerbaits and a mag dog or two.
hawkeye9
Posted 6/15/2013 8:07 AM (#646639 - in reply to #646632)
Subject: RE: Best Beginner Confidence Baits

I'd say you're in good shape with all three, Ryan.

You should be able to effectively work the water column with those baits. I'd be partial to the spinnerbait because of it's easy of use (especially in getting tight to cover).

As you grow in confidence for there, figure out the Mepps and the 'Dawg. When you get those figured out purchase a top raider (super easily to use) and then a suick or phantom or hellhound. With the topwater and glidebait added, no matter what any of us tell ourselves, you've got it all covered. Actually, you might really need a crankbait too...so add a depth-raider or Jake or Grandma.

Kirby Budrow
Posted 6/15/2013 8:26 AM (#646640 - in reply to #646632)
Subject: Re: Best Beginner Confidence Baits

All a guy really needs is a cowgirl
Peter Stoltman
Posted 6/15/2013 9:24 AM (#646647 - in reply to #646640)

Kirby Budrow - 6/15/2013 8:26 AM