Muskie Discussion Forums

Forums | Calendars | Albums | Quotes | Language | Blogs Search | Statistics | User Listing
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )
Moderators: Slamr

View previous thread :: View next thread
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [30 messages per page]

Muskie Fishing -> General Discussion -> Musky Fishing north of Wiley Point

Message Subject: Musky Fishing north of Wiley Point
MuskyMidget
Posted 2/16/2010 5:22 PM (#424096)
Subject: Musky Fishing north of Wiley Point

Hi:

I've been fishing the NW Angle for 9 years now. We never really have ventured and fished north of Wiley.

Just curious if any of you guys fish much further north than Big Narrows or Wiley area? And how the musky population is up there?

Thanks - Ball Cap
50inchGrinch
Posted 2/16/2010 6:38 PM (#424119 - in reply to #424096)
Subject: Re: Musky Fishing north of Wiley Point

Definitely a lower population, but some big fish around...
Matt DeVos
Posted 2/16/2010 6:58 PM (#424125 - in reply to #424096)

sent you a pm
Jerry Newman
Posted 2/16/2010 7:37 PM (#424130 - in reply to #424125)

When I first started fishing LOTW, Wiley Point was about as far north as we would venture from Oak Island too until one particularly slow (no?) fish trip when we decided to check out Ptarmigan Bay area. If you like rock fishing that area is hard to beat.

Long story short... we worked our way into Shoal Lake Narrows and that quickly became one of our favorite areas after August. We eventually just started bringing along tents and sleeping bags because of the distance, plus we could go anywhere and "camp on them" except Whitefish Bay.

The Moore Bay area was really nice too, but in the fall we just started staying at Ash Rapids Camp and either fished Ptarmigan or Shoal for the day depending on the weather.

The water is clear, and hooking up be difficult at times, but that general area provided the most enjoyable overall fishing experience on LOTW for me.

Good luck!
IAJustin