Muskie Discussion Forums

Forums | Calendars | Albums | Quotes | Language | Blogs Search | Statistics | User Listing
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )
Moderators: Slamr

View previous thread :: View next thread
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [30 messages per page]

Muskie Fishing -> Lures,Tackle, and Equipment -> non-levelwind beginner questions...

Message Subject: non-levelwind beginner questions...
STUSHSKY
Posted 7/14/2009 8:08 AM (#388520)
Subject: non-levelwind beginner questions...

hello all,
just unboxed my non-levelwind avet sx 6/4 2 speed with mc cast control. i've never used a non-levelwind before and was hoping for some shortening of the learning curve input for it. the manual seems to be pretty good at explaining the basic set-up of controls and the such but was wondering if there is anything else that those out there with experience with avets in particular or non levelwinds in general would care to pass on even before i chuck for the back yard muskies. anything from initial proper line winding techniques to the amount of line to spool up with (book says to 1/4" of the spool flange which would be about only half filled...does that sound correct) to specifics concerning the proper settings for the mc cast control knob to should i tear down before using to lube or is it good to go from the factory. any input would be greatly appreciated. p.s...it will be going on either a 9' croix legend bulldawg rod or a 9' legend made from the bass mega swimbait blank if that makes any difference...
thanks in advance,
stan

Edited by STUSHSKY 7/14/2009 8:35 AM
saltist user
Posted 7/14/2009 2:58 PM (#388633 - in reply to #388520)
Subject: RE: non-levelwind beginner questions...

Hi, The switch to non-levelwind has been pretty easy for me - it is important not to fill up your spool, do leave some room. Not sure exactly how much room I left on mine, start with a little more than normal and see how it goes.