Muskie Discussion Forums

Forums | Calendars | Albums | Quotes | Language | Blogs Search | Statistics | User Listing
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )
Moderators: Slamr

View previous thread :: View next thread
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [30 messages per page]

Muskie Fishing -> Lures,Tackle, and Equipment -> Color for Musky Baits

Message Subject: Color for Musky Baits
believer
Posted 7/16/2007 4:03 PM (#265540)
Subject: Color for Musky Baits

I am new to the sport and I would appreciate some help in choosing colors for baits. I fish in waters with alot of perch, walleye and panfish so I have alot of baits that reflect natural patterns as well as alot of black and black and red baits. Let me know your favorite colors or if you have any systematic way to pick color please! Thanks.
djwilliams
Posted 7/16/2007 4:41 PM (#265546 - in reply to #265540)
Subject: RE: Color for Musky Baits

Sounds like you are on the right track for colors of baits. Try to do a search here using terms like natural color or bait color. Make sure you go back awhile- usually that is set at 24 hours- just set that date as far back as a year if you want. You can search by message- that might be effective.
Good luck,
Don
Worm Drowner
Posted 7/16/2007 7:06 PM (#265567 - in reply to #265540)
Subject: Re: Color for Musky Baits

Color depends on the clarity of the water. We have murky water around here, so firetiger & orange firetiger are quite good choices. When the water clears up, perch and Tennessee shad are effective.
Team Rhino
Posted 7/16/2007 8:15 PM (#265576 - in reply to #265540)

Seems like the Bright day, Bright color. Dark day, Dark color works. I fish mostly darker water and this seems to be working this season. I have found different but a good rule to start with.
Clark A
Posted 7/16/2007 11:54 PM (#265618 - in reply to #265576)