Muskie Discussion Forums

Forums | Calendars | Albums | Quotes | Language | Blogs Search | Statistics | User Listing
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )
Moderators: Slamr

View previous thread :: View next thread
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [30 messages per page]

Muskie Fishing -> General Discussion -> Tricks for River trolling?

Message Subject: Tricks for River trolling?
VMS
Posted 9/21/2011 9:43 AM (#517546)
Subject: Tricks for River trolling?

Hi Everyone,

Looking to expand my horizons and am hoping to pick the brains of those who are experienced with big river trolling....rivers that have some really deep holes, some shelves here and there, but mainly a very defined drop and extremely limited backwaters. I'm just getting started with this idea and am wondering about a few things that might give me a jump-start on locating and rigging...

First, Equipment....

I have purchased a couple of in-line planer boards, but may not stay with them and move to a mast and larger boards. Just started playing with them a couple of days ago, and speed is definitely not a friend of the in-line boards with deeper diving crankbaits...(at least the ones I purchased..."off shore" brand)

Trolling rods are in the works with line counters...

Being there is some deep water, how much do you use downriggers?
Any specific depth that you generally find the fish in?
Seasonal locations/ depths?

Any help would be greatly appreciated...

Thanks in advance!!

Steve
Moltisanti
Posted 9/21/2011 10:52 AM (#517553 - in reply to #517546)
Subject: Re: Tricks for River trolling?

I'm no expert since I prefer casting, but here goes...

The river I troll has steep breaks, and I try to stay on the edge. I'd run a deep diving crank on a board to the outside and a medium depth crank on a down rod on that same side (assuming you have two people in the boat). Then run a blade on a board on your farthest inside rod and another medium depth crank in the propwash.