Muskie Discussion Forums

Forums | Calendars | Albums | Quotes | Language | Blogs Search | Statistics | User Listing
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )
Moderators: Slamr

View previous thread :: View next thread
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [30 messages per page]

Muskie Fishing -> General Discussion -> Beginner advice

Message Subject: Beginner advice
Jonny15678
Posted 11/22/2018 10:42 AM (#924135)
Subject: Beginner advice

I’m new to fishing for Muskie and am not sure what kind of lure I should get. I will be fishing in a creek dark water, rocky areas.I’d like something that’s universal in weight and colors. Any advice would be appreciated.

Edited by Jonny15678 11/22/2018 10:56 AM
tolle141
Posted 11/22/2018 10:56 AM (#924138 - in reply to #924135)
Subject: Re: Beginner advice

Assuming you have the right release tools (pliers, knipex cutter, jaw spreader, and a BIG net), starter baits I'd recommend:
-jr cowgirl (black/nickel) - all season
-magdawg (pick whatever color you want) - all season particularly fall
-9 or 10" weighted suick - all season
-7 1/2" softtail phantom - all season, particularly early season and late fall
ToddM
Posted 11/22/2018 12:43 PM (#924149 - in reply to #924135)

Small Creek you want a medium sized bucktails single or double blades. Black and silver or chartuse blades. Twitch bait like a crane and a glide bait, an easy one to work like a helhound. Topwaters are great too you need a tail rotator. Jerkbaits can be good too at times, usually in colder water.
Craig Holland
Posted 11/22/2018 4:15 PM (#924163 - in reply to #924135)
Subject: RE: Beginner advice

Bulldawgs are also a good starter bait. If you had to pick a couple I'd pick bucktails 9s or 10s, some crankbaits and bulldawgs or Medusa's. I know you asked for one but really the season definitely dicates presentation. Also make sure you have a good rods and real to A handle bigger baits and B bring fish in as fast as to not hurt the fish.
true tiger tamer