Muskie Discussion Forums

Forums | Calendars | Albums | Quotes | Language | Blogs Search | Statistics | User Listing
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )
Moderators: Slamr

View previous thread :: View next thread
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [30 messages per page]

Muskie Fishing -> Lures,Tackle, and Equipment -> ok to troll with Legend tournament rods?

Message Subject: ok to troll with Legend tournament rods?
musky1
Posted 8/15/2011 1:47 PM (#511882)
Subject: ok to troll with Legend tournament rods?

Hi I'm just getting into musky fishing and got a used legend tournament musky rod (7'3 mH) and was wondering if it would be ok to troll lures/bucktails with it?

Or should I be looking at a talora or glass based rods? Don't want to wreck the LT if trolling will hurt it.

Thank you in advance.
anzomcik
Posted 8/15/2011 2:51 PM (#511895 - in reply to #511882)
Subject: Re: ok to troll with Legend tournament rods?

This may be an unpopular opinion. But if any casting rod cant take some trolling it is not worth having.

I say that from the view point of not everyone has the budget and space to carry several rods. I have done it for years mainly from the budget reasons. I would cast 75-85% of the time and loosen the drag on the reels and troll with my casting reels. No harm to any of my rods.

Just be sure that your rod holders are not beating up your rods or reels. If they are not beating up your equiptment than i see no reason casting rods cant be used for some trolling.
Flambeauski
Posted 8/15/2011 3:31 PM (#511899 - in reply to #511882)

I wouldn't speed troll Legend Plows with it but yeah, you can troll bucktails and smaller baits with it.
Tackle Industries
Posted 8/15/2011 4:03 PM (#511908 - in reply to #511882)