Muskie Discussion Forums

Forums | Calendars | Albums | Quotes | Language | Blogs Search | Statistics | User Listing
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )
Moderators: Slamr

View previous thread :: View next thread
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [30 messages per page]

Muskie Fishing -> General Discussion -> Mortality rate of a musky bleeding from gills?

Message Subject: Mortality rate of a musky bleeding from gills?
Great Big
Posted 9/22/2010 10:23 PM (#460483)
Subject: Mortality rate of a musky bleeding from gills?

I boated a 52" this summer, first "real one". She had some bleeding from the gills afer I wrestled her in the boat with the help of Dad and a collapsible walleye sized net. She wasn't bleeding out, but had a moderate amount of blood from one gill plate. Turned her loose. Did I kill her? I have NO experience with fish of this size and the thought of that fish dieing has bothered me since.

How much can they take? Maybe an impossible question, but I had to ask.
Slime King
Posted 9/23/2010 5:59 AM (#460506 - in reply to #460483)
Subject: Re: Mortality rate of a musky bleeding from gills?

This question is possible to answer.. No you did not kill this fish. This fish may have died from delayed mortality from gill raker damaged incurred during the fighting/hook removal/landing of it but, you released this fish to allow it to have a chance to live and recover from the damage. This fish obviously swam away, which gave it a much better chance of survival than if you made a decision to keep this fish for the wall because she "might" not make it. Congratulations on the catch and release of your 52.
Jomusky
Posted 9/23/2010 6:06 AM (#460507 - in reply to #460483)

Well said Mr. King!

Mr. Big, if you are going to continue fishing for muskies, and I would certainly think so after a great catch like that, I would highly advise getting a Frabil or Beckman musky net. The bigger the better.
fins355