Muskie Discussion Forums

Forums | Calendars | Albums | Quotes | Language | Blogs Search | Statistics | User Listing
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )
Moderators: Slamr

View previous thread :: View next thread
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [30 messages per page]

Muskie Fishing -> General Discussion -> Surgery Again!

Message Subject: Surgery Again!
MuskieMedic
Posted 6/9/2009 9:35 PM (#383039)
Subject: Surgery Again!

Well, once again my spine has failed me. I started playing hockey when I was five all the way through high school and beyond. Then, I have lived my childhood dream of being a firefighter/paramedic for many years. This is not a good combination of athletics and career for ones spine. To add on to that I have this crazy obsession of muskie fishing, throwing large baits in a bobbing boat for hours and years on end.

I hurt my back initially in April 2003 on a Wildland fire in Stevens Point of all things. I had my first surgery, a Minimally Invasive Microdisectomy that July and was back to things full swing after few months. Fast forward to mid 2005 and the same disc (L5-S1) went out again, plus L4-L5 to boot. I had another Microdisectomy in May of 2005, once again a few months later back to normal. For some reason that fall my disc between C5-C6 decided it wanted to join the party and I had Laminectomy on that one in early November 2005, two weeks after our wedding as a matter of fact!

We will fast forward again to December 2008. L4-L5 herniated once again, this time with no injury to speak of. It actually started with just parathesia in my left great toe. By the end of December I actually landed in the hospital for a few days for pain control. After the usual conservative treatment of injections, PT, and medications I have come to a much more serious decision and will be having a TLIF (Transforaminal Lumbar Interbody Fusion) of L4-L5.