Muskie Discussion Forums

Forums | Calendars | Albums | Quotes | Language | Blogs Search | Statistics | User Listing
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Random quote: POSER!
- (Added by: KidDerringer)

Moderators: Slamr

View previous thread :: View next thread
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [30 messages per page]

More Muskie Fishing -> Basement Baits and Custom Lure Painting -> New at this- what do you think?

Message Subject: New at this- what do you think?
Tigger
Posted 10/9/2006 6:26 PM (#213601)
Subject: New at this- what do you think?

Hey everybody I am new to the musky thing. I have it bad. I was a diehard walleye guy but this has got ahold of me now. I am a high end cabinet maker out of cleveland, oh. With my job I get to work some very nice materials in building these high end millwork. Of coarse there are scraps and then it hit me. I could use these in luremaking. I have met some diehard musky people in my area that make thier own lures and now have me hooked. I am learning as I go. Trial and errors but working thru them. I have a small pond in the back that I can test the thru the design process. The good news is that in last 2 weeks I have had 2 hook-ups on these but have not got them into the boat. The first one hit the glidder and did some damage. He grabbed the head and the leader. Is was so excited to try it that I didn't let the epoxy dry for a couple of days. I coated it the night before , thus the damage. The second came on one that is not shown. It was fully cured and held up great. It was the crank style bait. The glider is about 9" long and the crank styles are 6" in main body length plus the bill. The 2 fish that grabbed the baits were 36-40" range. The musky's are definetly different than walleyes. Have to get use to the boat strikes!
Thanks John

Zoom - | Zoom 100% | Zoom + | Expand / Contract | Open New window
Click to expand / contract the width of this image
(DSC01319glide.jpg)

(DSC01289lure.jpg)