Muskie Discussion Forums

Forums | Calendars | Albums | Quotes | Language | Blogs Search | Statistics | User Listing
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )
Moderators: Slamr

View previous thread :: View next thread
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [30 messages per page]

Muskie Fishing -> Lures,Tackle, and Equipment -> flourocarbon-good or bad?

Message Subject: flourocarbon-good or bad?
mmgrode
Posted 5/7/2006 10:00 PM (#190721)
Subject: flourocarbon-good or bad?

Hey fellas,
what are your opinions on flourocarbon as a leader material? Is it sufficiently durable for musky teeth and gill rakers? Does seven strand or stiff wire spook fish? Thanks and God bless, Grodes
gordo2000
Posted 5/7/2006 11:10 PM (#190726 - in reply to #190721)
Subject: RE: flourocarbon-good or bad?

I've been using flourocarbon now for about three years, and I would say that it has increased the number of fish that I put in the boat significantly. I can rembember a trip up north with a fishing pal very clealry. I saw a lot of action with several follows, one musky in the lower 40's that I hooked and lost, and one in the upper 20's that I boated. My friend didn't see any action from musky at all. He runs the same rod and reel combo that I do with the same braided line along with very similar baits, but he was using a seven strand berkley leader. At first I thought it was just luck that I was getting more action, but on another outing in a southern lake we had very similar results. I boated 2 in the lower 30's and had several other follows. At the end of that day I suggested that the flourocarbon that I was using was the reason for all of the action. The next time we were out on the same lake he switched to flourocarbon. I had 5 follows that day, and he boated one in the lower 30's. I am convinced that it makes a bait look more natural in the water. As far as strength and durability, I caught my largest musky in the fall of 05 fishing from shore. It was 49 inches weighing around