Muskie Discussion Forums

Forums | Calendars | Albums | Quotes | Language | Blogs Search | Statistics | User Listing
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )
Moderators: Slamr

View previous thread :: View next thread
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [30 messages per page]

Muskie Fishing -> General Discussion -> Hi everyone

Message Subject: Hi everyone
musky14
Posted 3/3/2005 9:28 AM (#137421)
Subject: Hi everyone

Hi everyone I have checked out this site a few times and think it is great and I finally registered. I am fairly new to muskie fishing, but last year I caught the fever while I was fishing in Canada at a friends cabin. Now I can't wait until the season starts. As of now all I really have is a rod and a few lures. If some of you could help out and let me know some of the must have lures, ect. I will need for getting started I would greatly appreciate it. Thanks!
MJ

Edited by musky14 3/3/2005 9:29 AM
tomyv
Posted 3/3/2005 9:29 AM (#137422 - in reply to #137421)
Subject: RE: ---

musky 14, glad to have ya. Where are you from?
lobi
Posted 3/3/2005 9:56 AM (#137430 - in reply to #137421)
Subject: RE: Hi everyone

Welcome to the Great Disease of Muskie Fishing.
What a way to go.

Win the lotto and get a couple of muskie catalogs and go nuts! (just kidding)
Read this site from cover to cover.. a million tips and tactics covered here.
Great folks too!
IAJustin
Posted 3/3/2005 10:22 AM (#137436 - in reply to #137421)

Musky14

There are five must have "types"

1) Hair (bucktail) - get a spinnerbait (like bionic bucktail) and an inline like a buchertail
2) Topwater - would start with a topraider and a jackpot
3) Jerkbaits - Suick and a Glider such as a Phantom
4) Crankbaits - such as depthraider also a Jake is a "must have" - great twitched
5) Big Jigs/ Plastic - A bulldog is very good bait - jigs with plastics can be fished at most depths

All 10 are easy to find - Good luck with your new addiction!
MuskieMedic