Muskie Discussion Forums

Forums | Calendars | Albums | Quotes | Language | Blogs Search | Statistics | User Listing
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )
Moderators: Slamr

View previous thread :: View next thread
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [30 messages per page]

Muskie Fishing -> General Discussion -> How to Make Flurocarbon Trolling Leaders -- Help!!

Message Subject: How to Make Flurocarbon Trolling Leaders -- Help!!
SteveHulbert
Posted 1/12/2004 11:40 AM (#93267)
Subject: How to Make Flurocarbon Trolling Leaders -- Help!!

I want to make my own trolling leaders.....out of Flurocarbon.  I have no leader making experience or tools at home.  No one seems to sell any that are worth a dang, and I need many different sizes.  So, I thought I'd begin to make my own.

Can anyone tell me what kind of Flurocarbon they use (name brand and strength)?  What brand and where do I buy crimps and crimpers?? 

Also, I'm looking to find some clevises, or thimbles as some of you call them.  It's the metal sheath that you use to protect the fluro-loop where the snap goes.  Can anyone help me here??

Finally, what kind of snaps and swivels do you use??

I know that's a lot of info, but if any of you leader makers can help me out, I'd really appreciate it. 

RK
Posted 1/12/2004 11:49 AM (#93272 - in reply to #93267)
Subject: RE: How to Make Flurocarbon Trolling Leaders -- Help!!

Heya,
See if you can track down Any Moraller. He makes the leaders Marc Thorpe uses up on the Ottawa, and he knows about as much about the ins and outs of making them as anyone...

RK
slimm
Posted 1/12/2004 12:10 PM (#93281 - in reply to #93267)

Steve, IMO you should start looking at saltwater fishing boards for the best tips about fluro. Seaguar is usually the brand that is most popular I would not use anything less that 50lb as a leader.

Edited by slimm 1/12/2004 12:12 PM
tuffy1
Posted 1/12/2004 12:16 PM (#93284 - in reply to #93267)