Muskie Discussion Forums

Forums | Calendars | Albums | Quotes | Language | Blogs Search | Statistics | User Listing
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )
Moderators: Slamr

View previous thread :: View next thread
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [30 messages per page]

Muskie Fishing -> Lures,Tackle, and Equipment -> When to switch it up?

Message Subject: When to switch it up?
Musky_Mo16
Posted 4/18/2017 4:28 PM (#857660)
Subject: When to switch it up?

I assume most guys go out and start by throwing a bucktail. Especially late spring and summer. I normally always start by throwing a bucktail. How long do you guys wait until you decide whatever you are throwing just isn't getting there attention. By now everyone knows I'm new to the Muskie game. But when I'm bass fishing, if I have in a certain lure for over a half hour and don't get a bite I know it's time to change it up. But in that half hour while fishing for bass you brobaly bring your bait past 15+ bass. But when Muskie fishing in that same half hour you may only bring your bait past one Muskie, if that. So my question is, when musky fishing how long do you wait until it's time to try another lure? And when it is time to try something new, do you change up color or size first or go straight to a completely different type of lure?
muskyhunter47
Posted 4/18/2017 5:36 PM (#857673 - in reply to #857660)
Subject: Re: When to switch it up?

It's all in what lake I'm fishing. There are lakes I start with a suick or top water then if I see nothing after a hour might change. Every time you go out if you see a fish mark the spot icons are free . After awhile you will have spots all over the lake then you will have conference in the spots your fishing.and start to see patterns .If you fish a good spot and see nothing then try a different bait
T3clay
Posted 4/18/2017 11:02 PM (#857719 - in reply to #857660)