Muskie Discussion Forums

Forums | Calendars | Albums | Quotes | Language | Blogs Search | Statistics | User Listing
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )
Moderators: Slamr

View previous thread :: View next thread
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [30 messages per page]

Muskie Fishing -> Lures,Tackle, and Equipment -> Missing strikes on Whopper Plopper?

Message Subject: Missing strikes on Whopper Plopper?
ajrod88
Posted 11/5/2014 8:30 PM (#738655)
Subject: Missing strikes on Whopper Plopper?

I am relatively new to musky fishing and recently started using whopper ploppers. These lures are fish magnets! I have had more fish action with this lure than all my other lures combined! BUT i have a big problem. I still have not boated a fish on one. Fish comes in a hammers the lure and half a second later the lure is coming past me at 70 MPH. It happens so fast i'm not even sure what is happening. It seems almost like the fish grabs the lure loads the rod and spits it before i even can blink. What am I doing wrong? Any tips? Please! thanks
mnmusky
Posted 11/5/2014 8:36 PM (#738657 - in reply to #738655)
Subject: Re: Missing strikes on Whopper Plopper?

WAIT till you feel the weight of the fish. Then set the hooks hard with a side sweep of the rod. It's a topper, lots get lost.
Zib
Posted 11/5/2014 9:40 PM (#738662 - in reply to #738655)
Subject: RE: Missing strikes on Whopper Plopper?

Another thing to do is pit heat shrink tubing on the back hook.

Masqui-ninja
Posted 11/5/2014 10:23 PM (#738666 - in reply to #738662)
Subject: RE: Missing strikes on Whopper Plopper?

An old english fly fishing trick is to say "god save the queen" and then set the hook.

Sometimes a rush of water pushes the topwater out of the fish's grasp and there is not much we can do.
newmuskyz
Posted 11/6/2014 4:39 AM (#738675 - in reply to #738657)