Muskie Discussion Forums

Forums | Calendars | Albums | Quotes | Language | Blogs Search | Statistics | User Listing
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )
Moderators: Slamr

View previous thread :: View next thread
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [30 messages per page]

Muskie Fishing -> General Discussion -> New to Trolling

Message Subject: New to Trolling
ImpactFishing
Posted 8/23/2014 9:28 PM (#726798)
Subject: New to Trolling

Hey everyone,

I'm looking to do some trolling this fall, more specifically on the Bay of Green Bay. I am new to trolling for muskies as I am mainly a caster, but I have trolled for walleye quite a bit. I have a couple of questions I was hoping people could answer.

My set up I am planning on using is Shimano TDR 8' heavy with Shimano tekotas. As well as 100lb power pro for line. This leads into my first question: Mono or braid for trolling? I was planning on trolling with planer boards in open water only.

What should I do when a fish takes a bait? With walleye we never set the hook, just reel until the fish is up to the boat.

Can anyone recommend some good crankbaits for fall trolling? I don't really cast crankbaits that much for muskie, so I am not too familiar with popular ones for trolling.

Thanks in advance!

FIP
Posted 8/25/2014 1:09 PM (#726965 - in reply to #726798)
Subject: RE: New to Trolling

There was just a 2 page discussion on this topic.
MuskieJim
Posted 8/25/2014 1:23 PM (#726967 - in reply to #726965)
Subject: Re: New to Trolling

If you already own the TDRs, you should be all set with that setup. The one suggestion I was going to make would be to get the 8' M/H instead of H, as the tip gives a little more indication that your lure is still running clean.