Muskie Discussion Forums

Forums | Calendars | Albums | Quotes | Language | Blogs Search | Statistics | User Listing
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )
Moderators: sworrall, Slamr

View previous thread :: View next thread
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [30 messages per page]

More Muskie Fishing -> Muskie Biology -> Follows- Weeds vs Rocks

Message Subject: Follows- Weeds vs Rocks
ARmuskyaddict
Posted 9/2/2013 4:34 PM (#660912)
Subject: Follows- Weeds vs Rocks

I am not advanced in angling in any way, but have a question that I have been pondering lately. Maybe it's dumb, but as a newbie who doesn't get to fish much it really has me wondering.

Do you guys see more fish/follows off of rock structure or when in the weeds? As I am new to the sport and don't have a good boat that won't blow up onto the rocks with the slightest wind, I usually fish weeds. However, I did fish a lot more off of rock structure this summer and didn't see but 1 musky, whereas I has 10 follows, 2 nippers and 1 lost one in the weeds, plus 2 caught fish in the weeds. This is not counting what the guys I fished with saw, or pike.

What I am wondering is if the the fish on the rocks don't follow as much because they can locate the lure by sight more easily and are therefore less curious? I don't fish much, but as I learn spots more I tend to see more fish on the weed spots, compared to the rock spots I hit (proportionately of course). And, the fish are most definitely on both types of structure, but for some reason I don't see them off of rock as much as weeds during prime times. Thanks.
esoxaddict
Posted 9/3/2013 4:07 PM (#661098 - in reply to #660912)
Subject: Re: Follows- Weeds vs Rocks

I haven't noticed a difference in follows between rocks/humps/weeds/timber/etc. The only time it seems to change is when you're fishing over the tops of thick weed beds.