Muskie Discussion Forums

Forums | Calendars | Albums | Quotes | Language | Blogs Search | Statistics | User Listing
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )
Moderators: Slamr

View previous thread :: View next thread
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [30 messages per page]

Muskie Fishing -> Lures,Tackle, and Equipment -> Okuma Induron (some questions)

Message Subject: Okuma Induron (some questions)
AndrewR
Posted 11/29/2007 7:37 PM (#286966)
Subject: Okuma Induron (some questions)

Hi guys,

I recently got into Musky fishing over this past summer, and I'm also a nOOb to the boards here. Been reading everything here since summer and decided to register just today. This is a GREAT resource by the way!

For those interested, I fish the waters of Vilas and Oneida co. quite hard - mostly in Minocqua/ Lac Du Flambeau/ Boulder/ Arbor Vitae/ St. Germain areas.

Anyways, I'm looking for a new rod and reel to throw around 2-6oz baits. More like topwaters such as Rumblers and Topraiders, as well as the occasional larger bucktails.... Maybe some larger cranks too. The whole shebang, I guess.

I'm already set on the rod. 7ft 6-inch St. Croix Premier PM76HF (2-6oz).... If not this, then the 6ft 9-inch model is another option. (3-8oz)

I'm still very undecided on the reel.

I've heard a lot that the Okuma Induron's are built pretty well. The best thing I like about it is the price tag ($120) as it seems to fit my budget the best.

Do any of you well-seasoned vets have any opinions on the Induron? Are there any ideal applications you like to use the Induron 400a for? I've also been hearing that purchasing a power handle makes a difference with this reel. Any truth to that?

Thank you for your help!

andrew
California_Muskie
Posted 11/29/2007 8:33 PM (#286970 - in reply to #286966)
Subject: RE: Okuma Induron (some questions)

Andrew...