Muskie Discussion Forums

Forums | Calendars | Albums | Quotes | Language | Blogs Search | Statistics | User Listing
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )
Moderators: Slamr

View previous thread :: View next thread
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [30 messages per page]

Muskie Fishing -> General Discussion -> Rivers Vs Lakes

Rivers Vs Lakes
OptionResults
Rivers7 Votes - [77.78%]
Lakes2 Votes - [22.22%]

Message Subject: Rivers Vs Lakes
PennsylvaniaMuskie
Posted 7/2/2024 2:51 AM (#1029450)
Subject: Rivers Vs Lakes

Does anybody find that rivers outproduce lakes/vice versa? I'm still very new to muskie fishing and I'm trying to figure out where to start (which river/lake to target, what to use, to troll or cast, etc.)
On one hand, I think rivers probably have a little bit less pressure because a lot of boats can't fish some areas and they're a bit trickier to fish. Rivers also may have more forage depending on where you are.
On the other hand, I think lakes are probably a bit easier to fish and pin point locations where fish might be.
chuckski
Posted 7/2/2024 8:31 AM (#1029455 - in reply to #1029450)
Subject: Re: Rivers Vs Lakes

Lakes have been my bread and butter of Muskie fishing however we've caught some Muskies in rivers too and it's fun to go to a small rivers off the beaten path. In the past we went up and fished the Winnipeg River system for a couple of weeks each summer and it was a blast. The biggest fish we (or I should say my dad caught) come from there. I need to get a passport and go back.
Tyendinaga
Posted 7/2/2024 9:43 AM (#1029457 - in reply to #1029450)

The river fish are going to fight you harder and also will require more specific conditions in order to be around and receptive due to the variability of the water day by day. I wouldn't doubt that lakes will produce more consistent circumstances and therefore steadier patterns in fish behavior, I guess the random part of me is after the randomness the rivers provide.