Muskie Discussion Forums

Forums | Calendars | Albums | Quotes | Language | Blogs Search | Statistics | User Listing
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )
Moderators: Slamr

View previous thread :: View next thread
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [30 messages per page]

Muskie Fishing -> Lures,Tackle, and Equipment -> Needing help with choosing what to fish muskie with

Message Subject: Needing help with choosing what to fish muskie with
zbi
Posted 7/12/2022 9:27 PM (#1008697)
Subject: Needing help with choosing what to fish muskie with

I'm brand new to muskie fishing, and have zero idea what I should be using. I'll primarily be fishing off of a spillway, just dropping my rig into the water and letting it sit. I got a list of things I was going to try out, and wanted to see what you all thought of them. Plus, see if you all had any other things I could use. Here's the list of things I have picked out:

Okuma ABF-4000 spinning reel (owned, has baitfeeder lever)
Berkely Triline Big Game Braid, 20lbs (owned)
Big Cat fever spinning rod, medium-heavy
Nose clip rip with some sort of minnow
Some kind of steel leader

You see all this catfish-type gear, because I primarily fish catfish and wanted to get a heavy enough setup for both types of fish.
What do you all think about the gear I have picked out, and what would you recommend I change, if anything?
Thanks.
Rudedog
Posted 7/13/2022 5:46 AM (#1008705 - in reply to #1008697)
Subject: RE: Needing help with choosing what to fish muskie with

I highly recommend you go out with someone who has fished muskies for a while in the area where you plan to go. Your list may be adequate, but I highly doubt it. There are alot of bad things that can happen to you and the fish from inexperience and not having correct equipment. (hook cutters, net, long nose pliers)
Please try to get with an experienced muskie angler for guidance your first few times going.

Rotorhead