Muskie Discussion Forums

Forums | Calendars | Albums | Quotes | Language | Blogs Search | Statistics | User Listing
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )
Moderators: Slamr

View previous thread :: View next thread
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [30 messages per page]

Muskie Fishing -> General Discussion -> Techniques

Message Subject: Techniques
pistolpete314
Posted 1/22/2015 9:40 PM (#749914)
Subject: Techniques

First of all I just wanna say I am still a novice at muskie fishing, this will be my second season of targeting them regularly. I have fished for them for maybe 5 years but before last year it was only a few times a year. I did two guided trips last year and try to read as much as possible to learn but I still don't feel like I know much. Winter has settled in so how about we share some knowledge. I guess I'm looking for some early season techniques or techniques in general. What areas to target on a lake and depths, what baits to use where, what colors to use, etc. I fish in Minnesota metro, mainly Indy and Tonka. Opener is a ways a way but its hard to not get excited. I definitely need to get out fishing with a few of you guys as that's the best way to learn but that's not quite possible right now. Thanks
WiscoMusky
Posted 1/23/2015 12:11 AM (#749923 - in reply to #749914)
Subject: Re: Techniques

I dont fish Minnesota Metro lakes, but I can give you some general advise for spring. I would focus on new weed growth in soft bottom bays, and exclusively very shallow water. Anywhere you can find a stream/river coming into a bay is going to hold post spawn fish. Generally the northern most bays will warm up quickest, so focus on those bays, and then narrow down areas that you can locate fresh weeds as well as good bait fish.