Muskie Discussion Forums

Forums | Calendars | Albums | Quotes | Language | Blogs Search | Statistics | User Listing
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )
Moderators: Slamr

View previous thread :: View next thread
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [30 messages per page]

Muskie Fishing -> General Discussion -> Catching river muskys

Message Subject: Catching river muskys
WVAngler
Posted 10/24/2017 5:10 PM (#882283)
Subject: Catching river muskys

Hi everyone,

I am new to musky fishing and the forum and have never caught a musky. I was wondering if anyone had any advice on musky fishing shallow barren rivers under heavy fishing pressure. The river is shallow averaging about 12 feet deep with one loch that get to about 20. It also has no structure except for rocks. For forage there is shiners, suckers, crappie, and walleye.

Thanks for all the help!

sharptoothwv
Posted 10/24/2017 5:26 PM (#882285 - in reply to #882283)
Subject: RE: Catching river muskys

Fish anywhere there is a current break like bends in the river or large rocks etc. soft tail glide baits are usually always good in a small river I would start with simple sucker colors and go from there.
PRMuskyHunter
Posted 10/24/2017 9:20 PM (#882311 - in reply to #882283)

Second what sharptooth says. Make sure not to overlook feeder creeks as well. I’ve also had more luck focusing on dawn and dusk.
PAriverangler
Posted 10/25/2017 10:33 AM (#882348 - in reply to #882283)

Hi WVangler. Three years ago I got hooked on musky fishing in the rivers of SW PA. Some days it seems so easy but other days impossible. Don't get discouraged! Each time you are out on the water is an opportunity to improve your knowledge and skills. Generally I look for creek mouths, and transitions from deep holes to riffles. Not sure what part of WV you are fishing but if it is the northern part then I'm in the same area as you. Good luck out there. PM me if you want to talk some specifics.
TannerAE