Muskie Discussion Forums

Forums | Calendars | Albums | Quotes | Language | Blogs Search | Statistics | User Listing
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )
Moderators: Slamr

View previous thread :: View next thread
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [30 messages per page]

Muskie Fishing -> General Discussion -> Spring tactics help

Message Subject: Spring tactics help
nmazzino
Posted 4/25/2017 6:58 AM (#859506)
Subject: Spring tactics help

Hey all, I am new to muskie fishing. This is my 2nd full year. Last year I did pretty good in summer/fall. I got 6 musky with my biggest a 46" and was at least getting a few follows every time out usually.

Last spring I couldn't get anything. And this spring I am really struggling to get a muskie or any follows. I have been out 7 times already.

Any advice/tips? I have been trying to throw smaller baits as I heard and read in spring is better. I have also tried my bigger baits that I have caught fish on last year.

I live in Ohio and mainly cast.

Thanks everyone!

Edited by nmazzino 4/25/2017 7:36 AM
Fish4muskie
Posted 4/26/2017 8:38 AM (#859615 - in reply to #859506)
Subject: Re: Spring tactics help

My only advise is look shallow. Try to find warmest water and baitfish.
25homes
Posted 4/26/2017 8:53 AM (#859618 - in reply to #859506)

Not sure where you fishing but Ive fished ohio few times this spring and things been rough some them ohio lakes get major pressure...but like stated above find shallow water and weeds if possible will help...lot of the lakes around this area are right in the spawn temps too which can make things difficult as well
Rotorhead
Posted 4/26/2017 8:55 AM (#859619 - in reply to #859506)
Subject: RE: Spring tactics help