Muskie Discussion Forums

Forums | Calendars | Albums | Quotes | Language | Blogs Search | Statistics | User Listing
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )
Moderators: Slamr

View previous thread :: View next thread
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [30 messages per page]

Muskie Fishing -> General Discussion -> Times question....

Message Subject: Times question....
pc154
Posted 6/1/2016 5:10 PM (#818929)
Subject: Times question....

I'm still new to this game and always trying to learn.

Wondering how you guys go about fishing around the sun and moon rise/set times.

Do you try and fish at specific times?

How long before and after those times?

Any other times or periods you look for??

Any advice is appreciated.

Thanks.
Randy
Posted 6/1/2016 5:21 PM (#818931 - in reply to #818929)
Subject: RE: Times question....

Times are important but, change is more important. What I mean by this is, a change of light, current, wind, ect. No matter how bad the day is, as soon as the sun sets, things can happen. Always pay attention to what is going on around you and when something changes, learn to notice it.
ToddM
Posted 6/1/2016 5:46 PM (#818936 - in reply to #818929)
Subject: Re: Times question....

I do not put much stock in moon phases. Every once in awhile fish will be active during a peak time. More often than not it makes no difference. Case in point, last time I was out prime time was full moon underfoot. We had a dozen fish up that day, none during that period. Rarely do I find a spike in fish activity during the "peak" time. Sunrise and set, weather changes, bank on those.

Edited by ToddM 6/1/2016 5:48 PM
Born
Posted 6/1/2016 6:39 PM (#818946 - in reply to #818929)

This weekend is the MN muskie opener. The solunar times show good fishing, new moon is Saturday. The morning minor is at day break then a midday major and a evening major at dusk. I will be fishing at all of those times for sure.