Muskie Discussion Forums

Forums | Calendars | Albums | Quotes | Language | Blogs Search | Statistics | User Listing
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )
Moderators: Slamr

View previous thread :: View next thread
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [30 messages per page]

Muskie Fishing -> Muskie Boats and Motors -> Master power not working. Help!

Reply New post
Message Subject: Master power not working. Help!
Ball Cap
Posted 4/30/2012 6:41 PM (#556903)
Subject: Master power not working. Help!

Got my boat out of storage yesterday and the master power is not working. The battery is fully charged. The little wires that are for the bilge, lights, etc work fine. But when I connect the larger Yamaha wires the master power won't work. When I turn the key nothing happens. The trim doesn't work etc. I checked all the fuses and it doesn't look like any mice got to it in storage.

I'm a CPA and not an electrical engineer but this makes no sense to me.

Luckily I could still get my boat in the garage with the motor trimmed up.

Any ideas or troubleshooting would be helpful.

Thanks
TJ DeVoe
Posted 4/30/2012 6:50 PM (#556906 - in reply to #556903)
Subject: Re: Master power not working. Help!

I would take the battery in to a automotive store, doesn't matter who, just a good automotive store and have the battery load tested. I'm assuming your battery is bad. Have it load tested and that'll tell you for sure whether it's good or not.
Ball cap
Posted 4/30/2012 7:01 PM (#556908 - in reply to #556903)
Subject: RE: Master power not working. Help!

I tried 2 different batteries. So you think they may have enough juice to run the bilge and live well but not enough to run the trim etc?
TJ DeVoe
Posted 4/30/2012 7:11 PM (#556912 - in reply to #556903)

Checking the battery certainly won't hurt. Are your motor leads the first thing your putting on the battery? You want your motor leads on the battery first so they get the best connection.