Muskie Discussion Forums

Forums | Calendars | Albums | Quotes | Language | Blogs Search | Statistics | User Listing
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )
Moderators: Slamr

View previous thread :: View next thread
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [30 messages per page]

Muskie Fishing -> Lures,Tackle, and Equipment -> Leader questions

Message Subject: Leader questions
Bigbucks1985
Posted 1/23/2018 11:54 PM (#890410)
Subject: Leader questions

So I have some questions about leaders. I am a newbie at this Muskie fishing. This spring will be my second season fishing for tiger Muskie in Washington state. I have been making my own fluorocarbon leaders, I have been crimping the leader directly to each lure and crimping a small loop on the other end. I run a snap swivel on my main line and attach the leader loop to it. So each lure has an attached leader. My leaders are about 24". Do most guys just run a snap swivel at the end of the leader and attach each lure to the same leader? Also is there certain leader lengths that are better for certain types of baits?
VMS
Posted 1/24/2018 8:45 AM (#890421 - in reply to #890410)
Subject: Re: Leader questions

Hiya,

For many people, leader length is a preference. When I made my fluoro leaders, I’d make a loop on one end with a good barrel swivel, then on the other end I put a stainless ring with the loop. I’d attach my lures to the ring using a split ring.

Other people will do the same but use a snap instead to attach lure to leader.

For many as well they either use a steel leader or really heavy fluoro when throwing jerk baits and rubber baits. I make those leaders to be about 10” long but some will say make the leader the same length as the lure. Always have an in-line swivel of some sort and then use whatever you wish to attach lure to leader.

Steve
Brad P
Posted 1/24/2018 9:04 AM (#890423 - in reply to #890421)