Bad luck or wrong gear?
Jbodeau
Posted 6/22/2014 8:10 PM (#717162)
Subject: Bad luck or wrong gear?

Hello,

This is my fourth year musky fishing. My first year I caught my first musky and was hooked. The last two years I have fished countless hours for musky and have hooked, not caught, 5 more. All five of these musky, including one big one this morning, have been boat side while I am trying to net them and they have shaken my lure. Unfortunately I am a poor college student so I am fishing with a 6'6" pole. Is the pole the problem, or is this just bad luck? I have sharpened the hooks on all of my lures . Maybe I just need to set harder?

It's just bittersweet being so close to getting another musky in the boat over the last two years, including this morning, but having no luck!

Thanks,

John
muskyhunter47
Posted 6/22/2014 8:34 PM (#717165 - in reply to #717162)
Subject: Re: Bad luck or wrong gear?

it happens .I had one on the opener caught it on one side of the boat brought it around the back of the boat as I was bringing it to my net man i seen it was barley hooked it gave me two head shakes and was gone. it happens to every one stick with it you will get one in the net,
jdsplasher
Posted 6/22/2014 8:50 PM (#717169 - in reply to #717165)

John, check your PM's!
muskie tamer
Posted 6/22/2014 10:26 PM (#717191 - in reply to #717162)

At least your getting them boat side. I can't seem to even get any follows. Seen some big fish, just not following my bait.
IAJustin
Posted 6/22/2014 11:15 PM (#717204 - in reply to #717162)

not trying to be demeaning BUT how you fight a fish can definitely make a difference as to IF they get to the net, there are times the fish just eat the bait "wrong" and not much you can do, I think we all loose our fair share in the first 1-3 seconds of the fight when fish are not hooked well....but if you have a fish pinned over 10 seconds most can be netted with good technique -IMO