Tips for a Rookie...
Chris78
Posted 4/27/2013 9:27 PM (#637971)
Subject: Tips for a Rookie...

Hey hows it going guys Im a rookie when it comes to fishing muskies my biggest problem is locating fish. I read everything I can get my hands on and research everything I can find. But when it comes to actually finding fish on the water I come up short. Not really sure where they should be at certian times of year. Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Chris
Landry
Posted 4/27/2013 9:39 PM (#637973 - in reply to #637971)
Subject: Re: Tips for a Rookie...

Where do u live/fish?
Chris78
Posted 4/27/2013 9:53 PM (#637980 - in reply to #637973)

I live in illinois. I mostly fish the fox chain.
cave run legend
Posted 4/27/2013 9:58 PM (#637981 - in reply to #637980)

Corners of weedbeds, points.
jonnysled
Posted 4/27/2013 9:59 PM (#637982 - in reply to #637971)

a couple ideas for you.

early season, find where life starts first ... warmest water, newest weed growth and oxygen (current/wind are your friend). think about the sun angle and what part of the lake gets started first. know what direction the wind has been blowing the days prior to fishing and fish the face of it. get comfortable with working your boat in the wind and learn to enjoy it.

as the season progresses stay tuned in to water temps. and key in on where you find 68-74 degrees and also considering that fish generally move from spawning bays to secondary structure, then primary points and into deep water humps or use adjacent feeding areas as the season progresses. know structure and especially that which is adjacent to deep water. when looking at your maps find deep water and then get really good at identifying points, current saddles, humps and weed-lines associated to it.

boat position is ENORMOUS so make sure you are casting so that you are hitting the edges and not crowding spots by using your electronics and getting to know the depth of water that weeds grow to (usually based on water clarity).