Basic Complement of Lures
Rookie1
Posted 3/26/2013 7:58 AM (#629806)
Subject: Basic Complement of Lures

I'll be fishing for Musky the last week of July and the first week of August. I'm new to the sport and I'd like to know what lures you'd take if you we're limited to five or six at the most. Please understand that I'd prefer to throw smaller lures.

Any and all advice will be greatly appreciated.
SixBowls
Posted 3/26/2013 8:15 AM (#629807 - in reply to #629806)
Subject: RE: Basic Complement of Lures

Mepps musky marabou or showgirl - black and nickel
Mini hot tail or 6" softtail phantom - bright/orange/red
Shallow raider or big game balsa - natural/perch for me
Top raider - loon
Fish Stick - black
Mini Medussa - firetiger

Zinox
Posted 3/26/2013 8:31 AM (#629811 - in reply to #629806)
Subject: Re: Basic Complement of Lures

I´m fishing for pike anyway, i would never go on a fishing trip without a 9" weighted Suick, in a dark natural color, and a spinnerbait in a dark color.
Veithr3293
Posted 3/26/2013 8:54 AM (#629821 - in reply to #629811)

Hammer crank bait 6" Shad
Small HardHead Black with an assortment of tails
Double 8 Black nickle
American hardwood mini dark or light
Rad Dog Spinner bait black nickle
One glide bait pick the brand you like
jimjimjim
Posted 3/26/2013 9:34 AM (#629829 - in reply to #629821)

9" weighted Suick ,,, sucker color
Mepps "Giant Killer" ,,, silver blade & black tail
8" JoeBucher "Shallow Raider" ,,, perch color
Sharpen the hooks with a hook file ----
---- good luck ---- jimjimjim
curleytail
Posted 3/26/2013 11:16 AM (#629855 - in reply to #629806)

End of July/early August I'm usually fishing over deeper water with my baits running a bit deeper, but I also tend to fish lakes that have a decent deep bite.

Without knowing what type of water you are fishing, and that you want to use smaller baits I would say:

Rad Dog (single blade). Black skirt, nickel blade (or flame blade if the water is stained)