Insurance
whynot
Posted 4/18/2012 10:28 PM (#554176)
Subject: Insurance

The stolen Triton thread is a good reminder for all of us to make sure our insurance is up to par. Oddly, I just got done with inventory. While it sometimes sucks to realize just how much money I have tied up in this hobby, if it all goes in a fire or is stolen at least I know it's covered. I try to take inventory every spring as I am always buying/selling stuff. Take pics and make a list to make any claim easier.

Chris
Jeremy
Posted 4/19/2012 12:51 PM (#554277 - in reply to #554176)
Subject: RE: Insurance

Along this line of thinking please don't think it can't happen to you.

I had a garage/house fire last Sept. I'm a hobbyist woodworker so I deal with some volatile chemicals and as such am typically very cautious. Did something dumb in a hurry, left to shop and came home to fire engines. I'm 61, should've known better.

Lost 1/2 the house, a new car and a 681 VS Ranger that was in immaculate cond.
Sept. time, so ALL my muskie stuff was in the boat.

State Farm did (is doing...still buying/getting reimbursed as I type) a super job of not nickle and diming me.

It's called "Replacement Coverage" on your home. Make sure you have it. 100% coverage, no questions asked. Seriously.

Boat coverage is as you decide, dollar-wise. I opted for $3000 over the 1997 purchase price and they paid me in full. Not near enough for a 2012 Ranger so I took out a little loan.

A word to the wise. And no I'm not an agent, just a retired ol' tradesman that did something stupid. Don't ask....*G*

Jeremy.

Edited by Jeremy 4/19/2012 12:55 PM
dcates
Posted 4/19/2012 3:09 PM (#554310 - in reply to #554176)

+1

Make certain your electronics are covered (a separate rider on my policy).

Make certain your trolling motor and kicker are each covered (a separate rider on my policy).

Make certain your gear is covered (a separate rider, and all too low a dollar figure - but the most I could get, on my policy).