River fishing tactics
illinois riverfisher
Posted 3/15/2012 5:41 PM (#546291)
Subject: River fishing tactics

I am a rookie fishermen when it comes to Muskie and I was looking for advice. I wade the fox river in Illinois and am looking for someone to answer some general questions. What r the best times of year as well as time of day. What river conditions should I look for. What lures to throw and during what time if year. color of lures as well. I am a wader so keep that in mind as well. Thank you in advance for your time.
wiswimbait
Posted 3/15/2012 6:13 PM (#546298 - in reply to #546291)
Subject: Re: River fishing tactics

Big rocks,logs,bends,islands,or any other object that breaks up the current and gives the fish slower water to sit in and attack from is what you want to target.

Top water baits are what I throw the most in rivers.
curdmudgeon
Posted 3/15/2012 7:19 PM (#546307 - in reply to #546291)

february, regular and Mag SuperD's. pull/drop retrieve. and when a monster strikes 2 ft from your face next to the canoe, don't forget to set the hook then shriek, "OH MY GOD! OH MY GOD!"
bobtodd
Posted 3/15/2012 7:32 PM (#546313 - in reply to #546291)

Dams and spillways are a good place to try.
killroy
Posted 3/16/2012 10:53 AM (#546454 - in reply to #546291)

I fish southern ky rivers and creeks quite a bit. I use topwaters and big swimbaits. This year I am going to throw a few glidebaits around trees. You can catch them any month of the year. It took me a bit to catch my first open river fish. To make your chances better, focus first on areas of concentration. Winter- springs and warm inflow
Spring- dams, locks and follow the sucker or red horse spawn. Also crappie spawn. Fish move upstream in small streams in the spring. Any block stacks up the baitfish and the Muskie like it.