Help with Musky Lures
nebrwalleye
Posted 1/5/2012 7:24 PM (#531531)
Subject: Help with Musky Lures

As I've mentioned in previous posts, I'm new to musky fishing and on top of that I will probably only get to go a few times a year. Said I wasn't going to spend a ton of money on things and I did fine buying a couple of rod/reel setups. But as far as the lures go, I'm finding you could easily spend $500 quickly and have a whole bunch of nothing that really don't catch fish. I've read Musky Hunter magazine for a while and it's clear that there are a lot of baits out there that I should leave alone.

I'm not going to buy a whole rainbow of colors. Pretty much have have decided what I'll buy as far as colors go. But I'd like to know from you guys if you could have only a few (5 or so) types of baits that consistently produce for you, what would they be. Heres what I'm thinking:
-big plastics>bulldawgs or meduszas
-spinngers and double bladed spinners>cowgirls & some small ones to burn shallow
-jakes & suicks
-topwaters & shallow divers: here I'd like to stick with a "line" of baits. I'm thinking Joe Buchers Topraiders, etc.

What am I missing or what should I leave out? Colors I was thinking whites and blacks, (depending on the day), brown, walleye, perch / bluegill (or whatever baitfish are present).
Lemme know your thoughts.

Thanks for any help
kid coulson
Posted 1/5/2012 7:31 PM (#531532 - in reply to #531531)
Subject: RE: Help with Musky Lures

Toss in a glider, good release tools, and Id say you got the basics covered. Well done!
Posted 1/5/2012 8:09 PM (#531537 - in reply to #531531)

I've been musky fishing for 2 yrs now and 80% of the fish ive caught were on gliders, get some phantom softtails and maybe a hellhound or 2 and ur set!
Posted 1/5/2012 8:55 PM (#531543 - in reply to #531531)