Thoughts on how long big female Muskies go between meals in dog days of summer??
detroithardcore
Posted 9/3/2011 9:27 PM (#514990)
Subject: Thoughts on how long big female Muskies go between meals in dog days of summer??

I've heard different theories on the feeding habits of big female Muskies but what's your thoughts on how long big females can go between meals during summer water temps ranging in the 70's?? I'm not referring to reaction strikes but actual feeding? I've listened to several dedicated experts claim anywhere from couple days up to a weeks. There's so many factors involved including forage preference and size of forage but what thoughts do you have on how long big females will go between meals??
leech lake strain
Posted 9/3/2011 9:32 PM (#514991 - in reply to #514990)
Subject: Re: Thoughts on how long big female Muskies go between meals in dog days of summer??

I'm no expert but I dont think even close to going weeks without them feeding, in my opinion there eating daily probably at most a day or two without!
bfunk73183
Posted 9/4/2011 12:35 AM (#515003 - in reply to #514991)
Subject: Re: Thoughts on how long big female Muskies go between meals in dog days of summer??

they eat daily, atleast thats what i think = )

-b-
woodieb8
Posted 9/4/2011 4:58 AM (#515005 - in reply to #514990)

metabolism. hot water is as detrimental as cold waters..
curleytail
Posted 9/4/2011 8:07 AM (#515015 - in reply to #514990)
Subject: RE: Thoughts on how long big female Muskies go between meals in dog days of summer??

I'm certainly no biologist, but I think during the dog days of summer when the water is hot - they are eating more often than ever. Metabolism is cranked up and they need to eat more/more often. If they are in a lake with deep enough water so they can get to the level of the thermocline where the water is near their preferred temp zone, they are feeling good and feeding well.