Madison Chain with Dad, Late September
mtcook16
Posted 9/3/2011 12:36 PM (#514933)
Subject: Madison Chain with Dad, Late September

I am a student at UW-Madison and itching to get out muskie fishing. In 3 weeks, my dad is going to visit from the TC with the boat. I have never fished the Mad Chain before and am looking for some starting points. I was hoping for some advice on lakes, structure, color, ect. Honestly, anything would help. I am just looking to make the weekend as productive as possible and not waste time doing something that would not work.
bfunk73183
Posted 9/3/2011 12:57 PM (#514936 - in reply to #514933)
Subject: RE: Madison Chain with Dad, Late September

I will be in madison the weekend of sept 24-25 fishing with my dad (he lives in waunakee) great time to be fishing. We will be fishing Mendota/Menona might make it to wauby too

-b-
mtcook16
Posted 9/3/2011 1:28 PM (#514942 - in reply to #514933)
Subject: Re: Madison Chain with Dad, Late September

I have fished Mendota in the winter for pike, but that is it. Are there any muskies in mendota?
mtcook16
Posted 9/3/2011 1:32 PM (#514944 - in reply to #514933)

I was on the WI DNR site. There is conflicting data on if there are muskies in Mendota. Is it worth my time to fish Mendota, or another lake?

Edited by mtcook16 9/3/2011 1:41 PM
mcgeissler
Posted 9/3/2011 2:20 PM (#514947 - in reply to #514933)

I would definitely not waste your time on Mendota. Waubesa, Wingra, or Monona are all good lakes with plenty of fish.
Adam
Posted 9/3/2011 3:41 PM (#514952 - in reply to #514933)

The bottom line, is if you are pushing for just action, hit Wingra... It will be simple enough to breakdown and get on some fish in those few days. If we get some cool nights, the sucker bite can be really good out there, riding the edge of the small basin. (Casting is solid as well at that time). The baits really depend on the water temps at that time.
muskie! nut
Posted 9/3/2011 4:16 PM (#514954 - in reply to #514933)