What Kind of cedar wood?
muskyspit
Posted 8/1/2011 1:01 PM (#509945)
Subject: What Kind of cedar wood?

This is my first question on this forum and I am new to bait building,also bear with my typeing and spelling for I am a retiered welder/fitter, not to good at the key board stuff but good with my hands. I have maade over 100 turkey box and pot calls in the last 20 years and gave them all away so this bait building will be a hobby for me. For I would rather be out hunting and fishing and not married to a paint both.Thanks for all of you that do though. I whaant to make some wiley style baits to troll on Lake Chautaugua NY.and my home town res. Kinzua. I know from my call makeing there is a lot of different kinds of ceder and other woods so what would you other baitmakers recommend. Also what to seal the wood with,basepaint,paint.clear coat or epoxy of some type. Does it need belly weight? I do have a Paasche single action airbrush. All the help A to Z you might say I can use. I have a wood lathe also. I have made a dozen or so of baits none jointed,top water props, jerks and cranks. When I gave my turkey calls to some one I always feild tested it by calling in a long beard or a kill with it. Iknow I cant do that with my baits but it would be nice to make s ome beautifull baits you folks do. Thank you. Zack I hope I here from you as Capt. Larry turned me on to your baits. Very Very nice. Thanks again for some help.
zach2626
Posted 8/1/2011 6:46 PM (#509998 - in reply to #509945)
Subject: RE: What Kind of cedar wood?