Best Sucker prices? Minocqua/Woodruff?
AndrewR
Posted 9/20/2010 1:21 PM (#460107)
Subject: Best Sucker prices? Minocqua/Woodruff?

Hey guys. I'm the type of angler who is too stubborn to buy live bait for anything. Last time I set foot in one of the local shops to buy minners was 3 falls ago and I don't even remember what I paid for in suckers.

Anybody know where I can get the best deal/price for medium to large suckers? I plan on drowning and dragging a few of them while casting next week just to see what can happen.

The only local places I know are Rollies but since everywhere I fish is to the north, it's a little out of the way for the early morning runs. And then there's Kurts and then Great Outdoors Sport Shop which are conveniently located.

I also plan on going through the Mercer area as well. What's the recommended shop in the area?

The cheaper the better. I'm a poor college graduate. I don't plan on keeping them alive overnight in an aerator or anything.

haha Thanks!
ulbian
Posted 9/20/2010 1:33 PM (#460109 - in reply to #460107)
Subject: Re: Best Sucker prices? Minocqua/Woodruff?

5 to 6 bucks. You can tip a dollar to everyone who read all that stuff when you could have simply asked how much they cost.
AndrewR
Posted 9/20/2010 1:37 PM (#460112 - in reply to #460107)
Subject: RE: Best Sucker prices? Minocqua/Woodruff?

I'll give you $5 if you re-read and let me know which place has the best buy. Or is that too much to ask?
TJ DeVoe
Posted 9/20/2010 2:03 PM (#460118 - in reply to #460107)

Sucker prices are pretty uniform across northern Wisconsin from what I've seen. You might be able to save a $1 or so a sucker but what's a $1 if you have to travel out of your way to get them? Just get a bunch at Rollie's and make sure you keep fresh water on them and have some kind of aerator on them overnight, they'll be fine for a weekend.
MuskieTom
Posted 9/20/2010 2:34 PM (#460127 - in reply to #460107)