Coloured line
adamsnez
Posted 9/14/2010 9:10 AM (#459306)
Subject: Coloured line

Im looking at getting some tufline, not sure if I want PRO or XP (coated, and I know it wears off eventually)

First off, is it even worth it to get the XP if the slick coating rubs off? I know it's 'smoother' coming out and onto the guides, but I imagine the coating flying off" like the coating on PowerPro, and gets your hands mad dirty.. Does that happen or does the wax just come off unnoticed

SECONDLY and more important.
Im considering getting white line. What color do you guys prefer? I have no experience using anything but moss-green, so im wondering, for lake clarity like Western / NW Ontario (aka: not crystal clear) would white line be an appropriate choice of color???
Im not even sure if white is More visible in the water than moss-green. Any feedback on that? Just trying to not let those smart-skis notice anything fishy [no pun, i swear]

THANKS for any input!
Herb_b
Posted 9/14/2010 9:37 AM (#459310 - in reply to #459306)
Subject: Re: Coloured line

My favorite line for most applications is white Tuff-Line Plus. I use 80 lb on 6500 class reels and 65 lb on 5600 class reels. The line casts very well, is quiet, takes a beating, and the white color makes it much more visable than green line - which translates into improved lure placement.

I think green line is the worst line color because we can't see it so well and it sticks out like a sore thumb to the fish. Grey or white line is the least visable to a fish. Just try holding green line over you and look up at the sky. Then do the same with white line. You will see a major difference. So, use green line and you handicap yourself by making the line less visable to you and more visable to the fish. Not a good combination.