Double #13 spinners
Roughneck1860
Posted 8/31/2010 7:39 PM (#457588)
Subject: Double #13 spinners

Just wondering how many of you guys throw double #13's blades as regular of your daily lure selection. I mean actually throw them for a decent amount of time, more than just a few casts then switch them up. I've been throwing dbl #10's since they first really hit the market but this is my first year really throwing #13's as a serious part of my bait selection, only problem is I've caught a total of one fish on them and had one follow. Neither fish was anything to get excited about either. How do you guys make out with them? When do you find them more productive over say a double #10 spinner?

Thanks

Tim

archerynut36
Posted 8/31/2010 8:50 PM (#457601 - in reply to #457588)
Subject: Re: Double #13 spinners

there are alot more days they outproduce the 10's and they are much easier for clients to throw them too.. they do not have as much drag on the arms for newbies...bill

well actually to answer your question.. they do not have as much thump as the 10's do.. thats for sure.. but they are a bigger profile. and most fish see that as a bigger meal.. we have caught small to bigger fish on them.. but as i was saying they do pull easier. becouse the 13 blade lays more closer to the shaft when the 10 blade pulsates outward away from the shaft.. which is where you get the thumping from.. dont get me wrong they do thump. but not as much as the 10.. but both have their place and time
Posted 9/1/2010 11:06 AM (#457660 - in reply to #457601)

dunno what 13's you're using, nut, that spin closer to the shaft and pull easier, they must be thicker than your 10s. blade thickness is the only cause of what you're describing, and i haven't seen any thicker 13s. they'd weigh a ton.

13's do pull proportionally harder than 10s, for them to pull easier and not thump as much, logically and scientifically and from what you can see in the water, doesn't make sense, no offense intended.