Getting cranks to run correct???
anzomcik
Posted 8/12/2010 9:22 PM (#454915)
Subject: Getting cranks to run correct???

I am by no means an expert, i just enjoy playing around. But i have this one crank bait i made that is giving me the hardest time in the world to get to run good enough to use. I use them for trolling.

I use TLAR method of making them (That Looks About Right) It is a screw on metal lip, that i have used in the past that runs great. I know everything is perfect inline, and symetrical. I did all the work after hours at work (im a tool maker) on the lathe and millport.

Any guidelines or rules of thumb to having lip placement, weighting... I enjoy makeing baits (even thought i never caught a fish on one i made) It is fun to play around but very frustrating have to butcher a bait to try somthing new to get it to run correct. Thanks
GMan
Posted 8/13/2010 10:01 AM (#454975 - in reply to #454915)
Subject: RE: Getting cranks to run correct???

After making thousands of baits, I can simply say, sometimes due to wood grains or other factors making them perfectly in line and symetrical won't always produce a consistent action; its rare, but it happens. Sometimes if you don't get your prototype sealed really good before testing they will take on a little water and degrade the preformance or throw it off as well. (Starts out okay but then doesn't remain consistent.) If you are working with wood, they all need to be tested as inconsistencies occur. Sometimes its like muskie fishng, no matter what you did, they just get off. Good luck, stay with it, trial and error...its a gas catching them on your own lures.
Hoosierbaits
Posted 8/13/2010 11:33 AM (#454997 - in reply to #454975)