Which Calcutta do I want? And a dumb question about rods.
esoxfly
Posted 7/3/2009 10:01 PM (#386965)
Subject: Which Calcutta do I want? And a dumb question about rods.

I recently jumped the fence and decided that in order to contact/locate/mark more fish I needed to gear up with conventional gear. People around me are boating four and five times more fish than I am on a fly, and I need to see some more fish take what I learn from fish on gear and apply that back into flyfishing.

As such, I'm new to conventional gear and have some dumb questions. I bougt myself two Calcutta 400B's. One on a St. Croix PM80HF, the other on a MI Bull Dawg. I want another one, and like Shimano. Looking at the TE's and even the LJV. Which one do I want? I thinking for blades, as I'm a student of Steve Jonesi, which makes me a huge fan of the blades! (DUDE! LOL) I've read mixed reviews of the 400B on here, but the TE's sound pretty well liked. So looking at the specs, mainly between the 200 and 400 TE's. They all have 5.0:1 ratio, but the 200's and 200GT has more bearings than the 400 does. So capacity aside, do the extra bearings make for a tougher reels to handle the blades, or are they more bearings, but of a lighter weight, like a bass reel or something? So which TE for blades?

And as a secondary question, why are rods advertised as jerkbait rods shorter? I like longer rods, but if I need a jerkbait rod, I'm all about buying more gear!! lol

Help out a gear newb....
ToddM
Posted 7/4/2009 12:33 AM (#386988 - in reply to #386965)
Subject: RE: Which Calcutta do I want? And a dumb question about rods.

The shorter ones are pool cues. Very stiff. You do not need a short rod, you need a stiffer long rod. I usppose that has a double meaning.lol Anyway, you want one for jerks and glides that has something around an 8oz or better rating no less than 60z.
esoxfly
Posted 7/4/2009 10:34 AM (#387004 - in reply to #386965)
Subject: Re: Which Calcutta do I want? And a dumb question about rods.