Very Shallow Stained Lakes
Musky Punch
Posted 7/3/2009 12:37 AM (#386855)
Subject: Very Shallow Stained Lakes

I was fishing at a small shallow stained lake (around 700 acres).. you can only see like a foot and a half or so down even with the brightest of lures. It's roughly 6 -14 ft deep with average of probably 8 ft or so. Lots of lily pads and other plant/weeds on the edges of the lake. It's man made and doesn't have a lot of physical ground structure, some wood poking up in spots in random parts of the lake. I wouldn't said there's a lot of weeds because the sun can't penetrate the dark water.

Fished a total of around 30-35 hours with only 2 fish caught and a follow. Two people fishing. I'm relatively new to the sport, and I'm wondering what would your tactics be on a lake like this. The weather might have played an impact being that the two fish hit within the first hour or so of fishing on the first of four days (got hit with rain and temp drops). However, we fished it twice earlier this summer and got skunked. It's just we fished pretty hard and I was expecting a tad more considering this was an "action" lake. I know someone who once boated 11 muskies between him and his partner in one day.

Thanks for the advice,

MP

Edited by Musky Punch 7/3/2009 12:57 AM
JKahler
Posted 7/3/2009 12:54 AM (#386856 - in reply to #386855)
Subject: Re: Very Shallow Stained Lakes

Sounds like a couple lakes I fish once in a while. If the water is really dark, make sure you figure 8 after every cast.
BrokenWing
Posted 7/3/2009 3:40 AM (#386859 - in reply to #386855)

Any suggested baits?
PSYS
Posted 7/3/2009 5:32 AM (#386861 - in reply to #386855)

For heavily stained water, large bucktails are supposedly ideal. They give off a lot of vibration which helps fish key in on the bait. Llungens, Cowgirls and other large bucktails or spinnerbaits would be ideal.
Cast
Posted 7/3/2009 8:23 AM (#386872 - in reply to #386855)
Subject: RE: Very Shallow Stained Lakes