Adding Casting Platform/Storage for Tiller Style Boat
Mak51
Posted 2/4/2009 11:48 AM (#358977)
Subject: Adding Casting Platform/Storage for Tiller Style Boat

Currently I have a Ranger 680T and would like to add an additional casting platform/storage area in the middle of the boat. My primary reason for doing this is that a person casting out of the back of the boat doesn't have much foot room when standing on the side boards... pretty easy to fall in.

I was thinking of building a wooden box which could be placed in the middle of the boat and removed when not needed. Anyone ever do anything like this or have ideas. I am not experienced with building stuff so ideas would be great. Thanks
Yake Bait
Posted 2/6/2009 5:45 PM (#359378 - in reply to #358977)
Subject: Re: Adding Casting Platform/Storage for Tiller Style Boat

I have done some platforms before and they can help to improve a deck layout that you do not like. Couple of pics attached of what I tried with my last boat. Woudn't recommend the contrasting green carpet on a nice Ranger though... The back deck was fun to fish from but was heavy and really bogged down the 60HP motor that I had especially with passengers.

A few years later I got rid of the rear platform and tried a new one on the side (second photo this time with closer color match on the carpet) to improve rod storage. It worked OK but had to move stuff around all the time when fishing with a buddy to get at it so it was kind of a pain. Ended up buying a different boat as it was clear that I was not able to overcome the layout issues that this boat presented.

Putting a platform in the middle might be a little cumbersome as you will need to step over it when moving from front to back. Also, my experience is that when casting musky lures, the middle of the boat can be a dangerous place. Better off fishing as far apart as possible, or when fishign three one on back, two close together on the front so that they can't hit each other with lures.