Digital SLR advice?
lambeau
Posted 9/26/2008 8:58 AM (#337913)
Subject: Digital SLR advice?

the recent "loss" (read-in: theft) of my digital camera means i have to replace it.

we've been talking about getting an SLR for 5 or 6 years now, so rather than get another point-and-shoot to replace the one we had, i figured i'd use this as incentive to upgrade to a digital SLR camera.

i'm not a professional photographer, but i really enjoy taking good pictures: snapshots of people and fish of course, but also landscape nature shots, ultra-zoom detail studies, high-speed action shots, and especially pictures in low-light or interesting light conditions.

value is more important to me than cost.
quality is more important to me than value.
finding value and quality is ideal.

what are your experiences and suggestions?
- camera bodies
- lenses

thanks!
JohnMD
Posted 9/26/2008 9:14 AM (#337919 - in reply to #337913)
Subject: RE: Digital SLR advice?

See Your PM

scolba
Posted 9/26/2008 9:19 AM (#337921 - in reply to #337913)
Subject: Re: Digital SLR advice?

Well, we are still using the packaged lense, but i can't say enough good things about our Nikon D40x

My wife has had 2 bouts with malignant melanoma...well, one, and then a reoccurance, so we bought it to start tracking all of her moles visually. So for that, we definately needed a good camera, but one that didnt' break the bank.