Bucktails
Beginner
Posted 12/9/2007 9:03 AM (#288248)
Subject: Bucktails

I'm thinking of in line spinnerbaits for next season. I'm still a beginner and would appreciate some advanced opinions. What I've been using are Mepps.

1. My impression is that the regular Mepps Muskie Killer is too small to be really effective after spring season. Am I accurate?

2. The Magnum Muskie Killer is big enough to be effective, but the bucktail is too small. Correct or not?

3. Attaching a tandem bucktail to the Magnum Muskie Killer would make it more effective as a summer-into-fall lure. True or not?

4. The Mepps Giant Killer would be more effective after spring with a tandem bucktail. Yes? No? Maybe so?

What do you'all think?
Tackle Industries
Posted 12/9/2007 9:09 AM (#288249 - in reply to #288248)
Subject: Re: Bucktails

I love my Mepps Muskie Killers too but now use them for pike fishing. You might want to go with a big double #8 or #10 bucktail for muskies. I think a lot of what has been found is that the bigger twin bladed bucktails that throw out a lot of vibration really get the muskies going. It is not a secret that muskies and pike go after vibration but that is the key to these bigger bucktails getting the numbers of big fish boated IMO. Lots of good places to get those big blades and terminal tackle. Just post the question on the Basement forum and you will get more links than you want.
muskie_man
Posted 12/9/2007 9:50 AM (#288256 - in reply to #288248)

You might also want to look at the Mepps Musky Marabou. The black/nickel is my favorite. The fish up in canada really loved them. i wish they had just a little bit more marabou on them. The Colorado blade puts out a lot of flash and vibration.
lambeau
Posted 12/9/2007 10:47 AM (#288266 - in reply to #288248)