noise
mikie
Posted 8/7/2006 12:22 PM (#204021)
Subject: noise

I've seen some debates between rattles and no rattles in and on baits.
Rumor has it that our SiteDaddy, Sworrall, at one time had a presentation on underwater noise.

Can you please share some of your insights, Steve? (or, maybe direct me to an archive on the subject?)

What sounds seem to trigger the feeding instincts of muskies? thanks, m
ToddM
Posted 8/13/2006 8:42 AM (#204782 - in reply to #204021)
Subject: RE: noise

Mikie, I am no expert but I prefer vibration over rattles. I have done better trolling murky lakes with flat sided baits that thump hard over rounder sided baits and the flat sided ones were wood with no rattles. On pressured waters, I noticed baits with no rattles worked better. This may or may not be true in all cases but it worked for us.
IA Kid
Posted 3/8/2007 2:48 AM (#243483 - in reply to #204021)

I have heard that with increased fishing pressure, muskies are becomming weary of the noises made by the common loud baits. And that you should alter the sound of the bate in some way that makes it unique.
dougj
Posted 3/8/2007 5:00 PM (#243610 - in reply to #204021)

I suspect that no one really knows!

Doug Johnson
sworrall
Posted 3/8/2007 10:17 PM (#243664 - in reply to #243610)

Doug's right. I did record about 100 baits on tape, and look into anything I could find that might indicate a sound signature that the fish seemed to like. I found nothing conclusive, but some correlations that are 'interesting'. Example:

I had three Tallywackers recorded, two which caught fish, and one that didn't. The two that did both had a good and identical metal on metal sound, the one that didn't didn't. What does that prove? Nothing, unfortunately.
Fish Tank
Posted 4/6/2007 10:47 AM (#249223 - in reply to #204021)
Subject: Re: noise