Rice Lake, WI
kjgmh
Posted 2/18/2006 12:06 PM (#178038)
Subject: Rice Lake, WI

I am new to fishing Rice Lake, but from what I understand it has been stocked since 1984. It now is producing a fair number of 50"+ fish every year. It also supports a very good northern population. Does anyone know what strain of fish were/are used to stock this lake. It seems to me that whatever was done in this lake worked quite well and could possibly be used to improve some lakes that I consider fairly similar. I know that there are many variables, but food for thought.
Dave N
Posted 2/18/2006 5:48 PM (#178075 - in reply to #178038)
Subject: RE: Rice Lake, WI

According to WDNR's online fish stocking database (with 1987 stocking numbers corrected on 2/21/06), Rice Lake in Barron County was stocked as follows:

1984: 939,000 northern pike fry

1987: 1,400 muskellunge fingerlings (9 inches) from the Spooner Hatchery
That year, 4 quarts of eggs came from Lac Courte Oreilles and 18.5 quarts of eggs came from Bone Lake (no mixing with fish from Woodruff Hatchery or elsewhere). So all the muskies stocked into Rice Lake in 1987 had to come originally from either LCO or Bone Lake, according to Spooner Hatchery Manager Gary Lindenberger.

1988-1991: 1,400 muskellunge fingerlings (7-10 inches) annually

1993: 1,900 muskellunge fingerlings (10 inches)

1995, 1997, 1999: 1,400 muskellunge fingerlings (10-12 inches) in each of those years
In 1995, the Spooner Hatchery sent eggs to Woodruff and was closed for renovation. So there is no guarantee that fish stocked into Rice Lake by the Woodruff Hatchery in 1995 originated from eggs collected by the Spooner crew. Irregardless, whatever fish were stocked in 1995 would not be showing up as 50-inch fish in 2005, so this is a moot point and was added solely for the sake of accuracy and thoroughness (DJN 2/23/06).

2001, 2003: 939 muskellunge fingerlings (10-12 inches) in each of those years