Thanks muskie fraternity....
Donnie3737
Posted 11/29/2005 9:06 PM (#166986)
Subject: Thanks muskie fraternity....

But I'd rather be in a sorority....ANYWAY, all kidding aside, please take this to heart!!

I wasn't sure how to start this thread...or even finish it for that matter, so I decided to just speak from my heart!

Exactly 20 years ago this month, I took my first muskie fishing adventure on Lake Monona in Madison, WI. Steve Herbeck guided me to a nice pike (38 1/2"er), and we saw 6 nice fish for the day. I remember this for one reason....my passion for this sport started that day!

Having competed in sports...football and baseball...since I was 6, made me a very competitive person. I graduated in 1985, blew out my knee, and couldn't play football any longer. I was angry, frustrated, and couldn't COMPETE ANY longer. Then, along came a guy by the name of Bruce Schwengal of Dorn's hardware, telling me about this fish called the "muskie." Having been born and raised in East LA, I'd never heard of it. He said it was the "king of Freshwater," and that if I caught one, and turned it into this club called Muskies Inc., I'd get points...POINTS...what a concept...competition!

WOW....I'd always lived my life to score points, so this was for ME! I attended the December meeting of Muskies Inc., where Steve was speaking that night. I was enthralled by the video and pictures Herbie had...I was hooked. Not only did I have a great time watching his presentation, but a man by the name of Kevin Wegner approached me, and mentioned his cousin went to the UW. That was where I went...we hit it off pretty good...today he is still one of my closest friends. Thanks Kevin Wegner for coming up and opening up your life to me. It has been a long, GREAT, friendship...sorry you lost that 55-56"er October 9th, 1994, and that 56-58"er September 4th of this year!!!