exaggerated rod length
supertrollr
Posted 10/16/2019 1:55 PM (#948377)
Subject: exaggerated rod length

when the race for the longest rod will end ,what size will be long enough ? did i seriously missed something because i keep using no more than 8f ? it's clear that they will continue to build longer and longer one if you keep buying it just because it's new. imo the 9 to 10f long rod are pure junk for good net job and for a good control. but that's just me.
vegas492
Posted 10/16/2019 2:23 PM (#948378 - in reply to #948377)
Subject: Re: exaggerated rod length

I have switched to 9 foot rods. Love them. Took about 2 hours to get used to them. I like my 8.5 footers, but prefer those 9's. I do still love the 7.5 foot jerk bait rod, but dang, the 9 footer is where it is at for me.
I get yah, though.
Kirby Budrow
Posted 10/16/2019 2:38 PM (#948379 - in reply to #948378)

I've been using 9 foot and longer rods for probably 9 years. I would never want to switch to a shorter one. My favorite is my 9'6". I don't see an issue with control or netting. I think it depends a little on your height. Shorter people might like a shorter rod since they are closer to the water, but my wife is like 5'4" and uses a 9 footer and loves it as well. I also casted the st. Croix 10 footer for a few hours and liked it. I wouldn't purchase one, but there is nothing wrong with it. It flings small bucktails a mile.
esoxaddict
Posted 10/16/2019 3:54 PM (#948382 - in reply to #948379)

I think it ends when they no longer fit in the rod locker. That said, look at the average age of a muskie angler. Longer rods might not be of much benefit when you're 30, but as age catches up with you, they start to become a commodity. I still like a shorter rod for certain lures, but the difference between doing figure 8's all day with an 8'6" or longer rod vs the old 7' rods? Night and day...