Equipment Review: Frabil Conservation Series Landing Net- #9530
RandalB
Posted 8/26/2015 5:57 PM (#782100)
Subject: Equipment Review: Frabil Conservation Series Landing Net- #9530

Hey all,
I'm Sure everyone is getting tired of reading my reviews today, but I have a couple more I'd like to share.

Disclaimer: I'm not a professional Musky guide or someone who sells tackle for a living. I'm like a lot of guys, I fish on weekends and whenever I get the opportunity to jump on the boat and get out there. I'm not telling anyone to run out and buy this particular net and I don't get anything from anyone for posting this; I just want to share my experiences with the forum.

2015 has been the first year I've really put some serious time into catching muskies. I've been out on guide trips and spent a week here and there over the summer fishing in Northern Wisconsin and In my home state of Indiana. I've been a Muskie nut since 1982 when I caught my first one in Vilas County Wisconsin. My family had no idea how deep the obsession went until just recently. As my fishing obsession ramped up several years ago (and we bought a boat) my family bought me a landing net. It was some generic brand with an expandable 8' pole and I believe it was for salmon or catfish or something. It had big knots and rough mesh but it seemed it would be ok for my fishing (here's the error in my thinking again..). I was out earlier this year and stuck a 31" fish on a bucktail in the 8. Got it in my sub standard net and it proceeded to roll up and get it's teeth into the mesh. It proceeded to cut the mesh and make a hole in the net. After having to cut almost all the hooks off the bucktail to get them unstuck from the mesh I released the fish. I noticed it appeared to be all scratched up from the mesh as well. All of these things were unacceptable to me.